Cooper and the Prayer Walk

Again~ no call to sub this morning. I know God always has a plan for me so I didn’t worry. And not working also means I can spend some quality time with Jesus at my parish. With God I need to remember no matter what, whatever is happening or going to happen it is a win-win situation because He is with me and has a plan for my life. “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18. So I just go with it now.

When I got home from adoration and mass this morning Cooper was waiting for me.  He was doing his usual doggie dance and speaking to me in his playful growly way. “You’re home; I want to go for a walk! Get a move on, Lady!”  So I bundled up (yesterday I froze!), hooked him up to his harness and off we went. When I walk I pray. I either pray the rosary or the Divine Mercy Chaplet or both depending on how much time I have. And since I have all the time in the world today I chose to pray both. I have ten fingers so I do not need to carry a rosary, but I have made it a habit to carry them with me always, dangling from my belt like a janitor with his keychain. Today is Thursday. Oh JOY, my favorite: The Luminous Mysteries. Thank you JPII!  One of my favorite gospel readings is the Transfiguration. I can just imagine Christ getting to the top of the mountain, finding the highest place to stand, maybe at the edge looking down at the beautiful view, spreading his arms, smiling and laughing, yes I see him laughing with joy, as he as he glows his divinity all over his freaked out friends. … HA!

So I walk and pray. It takes me about thirty minutes (approximately two miles) to pray both prayers. Physical and spiritual exercise! This brings me peace. A peace I need. Me, the crazy mother bear, who gets mad at everything and needs to be silent and still with God.

This past Fall, during a Secular Franciscan meeting, we were discussing our favorite places to pray. Most people talked about favorite chairs or rooms they liked to pray in. I brought up dog walking. One of the members thought it was wonderful that I did this and said, “You are blessing all the people and houses you pass when you do that.” I hadn’t thought of that before; which reminded me of when I used to pray the rosary as I crossed campus at the high school where I work.

At the time I was a Para educator and I would walk with the students as they went from one class period to the next.  The school campus is huge, more like a small college campus, and it takes seven minutes or more to get from one side of campus to the other. So I made it a habit that school year to pray the rosary as I walked between classes, usually a decade at a time. Now these are high school students we’re talking about… most of the people walking are teens and they will say and do things teenagers this day and age say and do… which usually is slightly disturbing at times: a lot of swearing (it’s a verb, a noun and an adjective all in the same sentence!), sex, drugs and …well, you don’t want to know. So I just keep praying, because I know they need it. One day it came to me (an epiphany!) that as I walk my guardian angel walks with me praying the rosary with me. Cool. Great image. Then the idea struck me: as I walk across campus praying, as I pass each student (we’re talking thousands of kids!) his or her guardian angel begins to pray with me, whether that student believes or not, his or her angel prays with me… so there I am, little ole me, quietly praying… but I am not alone… I have thousands of guardian angels praying with me. How AWESOME is that image?! Pretty cool, huh? You think you are praying alone. Nope. You are praying with angels and saints.

So Cooper is happy that I took him on the extended prayer walk (as opposed to the shorter Divine Mercy prayer walk I normally give him at 6:00 AM), I am peaceful and all is right with the world.

Oh wait… I have to shovel all that old hard snow off the front steps for the oil to be delivered… maybe I need to go on another prayer walk before I tackle that… or I will sound like one of those teenagers… guardian angel… put your sneakers on…

2 Comments

January 10, 2013 · 10:46 am

2 responses to “Cooper and the Prayer Walk

  1. Ask Your Guardian Angel Its name. Listen cause it will tell you 🙂 I think I told you before that mine told me. Love your Blogs Kelly. YOU ARE AWESOME!!

  2. Antonella Dietrich

    Thank you for your prayers at PA. My two teenage daughters go there!

Leave a Reply

