The Light Shines in the Darkness

Image

This morning we got to our church early ~ our sons were altar serving ~ and as we prayed, read and waited for mass to start, we were able to hear the band practice. After they sang one song my husband nudged me and said, “Remember?” and I said, “I was just thinking about that.”

2005, the first year of my reversion (I came back to the Catholic faith after being away for 21 years), was filled with many wonderful Holy Spirit filled moments. I had joined a book club at our parish, St. John’s in E. Bridgewater, Massachusetts, and we met once a month to discuss Christian books. We would frequent a Christian book store in Brockton, MA to get inspirational and informative books. During one outing I happened to purchase three books for myself, one happened to be something like 100 Great Bible Verses, another was a devotional book and the third was the book we were going to read and discuss at our next meeting. I browsed all three books when I got home and I noticed something, they all shared the same bible quote within the first several pages, “Thy Word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path.” Ps. 119: 105. This blew me away, ever since coming back to my faith I saw God speaking to me a lot, …especially those first few years… and here He was again, bing bang boom… the same quote over and over… I do not believe in coincidences … God was telling me something!  He is showing me the way through His Word! He is lighting my path!

After that I saw and heard that bible quote everywhere!  E V E R Y W H E R E … Sure, I now know that it is a fairly popular/famous bible quote, but at the time I had never heard it!  I kept coming across it and other verses about lamps and lights…. All the time! Then I realized the children’s choir at church sang it at the 9:30 mass! I couldn’t seem to get away from it! It was mind blowingly (sure, I can make up words!) awesome! It was everywhere! Then!  Oh yes ~Then~ he really topped this experience with a cherry~ an unforgettable event!  God definitely has a sense of humor!

Every morning I drove my husband to the Whitman train station to catch the commuter rail to Boston. This one day happened to be extremely windy. It also happened to be trash day.  As I was heading down the last road to the station, a big gust of wind rocked the van and a large standing lamp (I kid you not!) a LAMP slid across the street and stopped right in front of the van! My eyes bulged! “OKAY GOD!  I GET IT!!!!” I could almost hear Him chuckling to Himself!

I have been back for almost ten years now, and though I have grown a lot and know a lot more than I did, I need to be continually reminded and encouraged through His Word … CONTINUALLY… for I can easily slip and fall back into darkness.  He reminded me this morning that He will always be there, to call me (like he called the fishermen in today’s gospel), to walk with me and to illuminate my mind and my way… He fills me with the Holy Spirit, fills me so much that at times I feel like I glow… a child of light.

I pray and hope that this year He will continue to keep me on my toes … and will make me laugh …. as he teaches me how to grow in holiness.

Image

“I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” John 8:12

Leave a comment

Filed under Catholic, Christian, Faith, Jesus Christ, Secular Franciscan

Leave a Reply

