Jesus Decorating My room

Image

Recently I have been practicing Lectio Divina. …The art of Lectio Divina? … ah… a slow contemplative praying of scripture. To become closer to God. To sit in silence and listen with the ear of your heart to what God is saying to you through scripture.

My priest gave a me a list of scripture readings (specifically asking for the Grace for a deeper trust in the Father’s care for me) … I am to pray with them for three consecutive days. Really mull over each one. Really savor lines, phrases, words…  dig deep and find meaning… wow…. it is really quite beautiful … each day I do find something new in each scripture verse, something I did not see the day before. It’s wonderfully wild and eye opening.

Since I am a very visual person I SEE each scene I am reading…. then I place myself IN that scene… I LIVE the scripture. I interact with God and/or Jesus in the scene… I ask Him questions and see what he says and does. Pretty cool, huh?

Last week I climbed into chapter 14 of John’s gospel. “Do not let your hearts be troubled. You have faith in God; have faith also in me. In my Father’s house there are many dwelling places. If there were not, would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back again and take you to myself, so that where I am you also may be” John 14:1-3. It took me until day 3 of praying this to really step into Jesus’ Father’s house. I really dwelled on the phrase “I am going to prepare a place for you.” Okay… stop and think about that for a minute. Jesus preparing a place… for you.  Think about Jesus preparing YOUR room in God’s house.  Jesus knows what you like, right? … so he will decorate your room how you like it. Imagine him preparing… what does that look like? Jesus cleaning your room: yes seriously… Jesus sweeping the floor. Painting the walls. Making the bed. Hanging pictures on the walls of family, friends, saints. Stacking books on your book shelves…. Jesus organizing your room….picture it….

I see my room in warm bright colors…. cranberry red, tangerine orange, lemon yellows… flowers painted on the walls…. a purplish blue ceiling filled with stars and the moon, which glow in the dark.  I see a sleigh bed, a quilt with a flower pattern, pillows… a night stand with a statue of Mary, a lamp, a pile of books … a roll top desk in the corner with paper, pens, pencils, cards, stationary, notebooks…. Book shelves… oh yes, book shelves filled with books (JOY!).  And a comfortable window seat overlooking the backyard…. look out into the the yard… a garden, a patio, a pond, flowers, trees…. a gathering place to read, talk, laugh, sing, dance… enjoy each others company….

Wow… the peace that I felt as I imagined all this…

And the more I think about it the more I add to this scene…. and then I think about sitting with Jesus and the saints in my room, in the garden in God’s house…. the conversations we would have….

think about it…. What would your room look like?

Image

 Practicing Lectio Divina has added an amazing dimension to my prayer life … maybe it is something you would like to add to your prayer life this Lent?

Leave a comment

Filed under Catholic, Christian, Faith, Jesus Christ, Secular Franciscan

Leave a Reply

