Enjoy This Season

Happy-Halloween-Meme-7

Yeah. That pretty much sums it up. Christmas shoved down our throats since November first… and actually before then … you definitely saw all the Christmas decorations lurking, skulking and inching their way onto store shelves since late summer… seriously. Best way to kill my “holiday” spirit is by shoving it down my throat months in advance. I have always said I don’t want to see or hear anything Christmas until the day after Thanksgiving … but yeah, unfortunately, every year it comes … earlier and earlier. The only way to avoid the chaotic cacophony of Christmas is to climb under a rock… it is everywhere… on TV, the radio and in stores … it is almost impossible to avoid this madness.

turkey-and-santa-cartoon-november-my-month

You tell him turkey! It’s November. It is still autumn… Enjoy the NOW! I was just walking my dog Cooper, enjoying the sunset and the spray of autumn color… all the amazing hues: rusty reds, burnt oranges and mustard yellows. Some trees are still holding up their colors with pride, others stand naked with a blanket of leaves decorating their feet. It is beautiful. Relish the moment.

Enjoy November. This is the “thankful” month, where we give thanks to God for all we have and all we are. We are thankful for this great country… which brings us to today: Veteran’s Day. I am thankful for those brave men and women who have served our country in the armed services. Without their service and their sacrifice we would not have the freedoms we now have.

November will also forever be my father’s month. One year ago today, on Veteran’s day, I left my parent’s house in Syracuse NY knowing I would never to see my father again in this life. I prayed the Divine Mercy Chaplet with him right before I left (sobbing through the last decade). Ten days later he passed away. Though my father, the General, was never in a war, he bravely fought the biggest battle of his life his last couple of years… against that damned evil disease Myasthenia gravis. He is my hero. And I miss him terribly. I thank God for the gift of my father.

So, I reiterate… it is November… not December… turn off those Christmas carols, please. You can wait until …Advent! Yes Advent! Christmas doesn’t actually start until, you got it, Christmas day… and it goes until Epiphany which is January sixth. Can we please celebrate these holidays during their appropriate seasons? When you drag out Christmas into other seasons and then end it right when it begins it tends to lose its spark. And you seriously ruin it for me. Yeah, bah humbug.

So~ Enjoy each moment, the here and now. Now is autumn, now is November … now let’s be thankful. Amen.

thankful

1 Comment

Filed under Catholic, Christian, Faith, Jesus Christ, Secular Franciscan

One response to “Enjoy This Season

  1. You are not alone. I never gave Advent sufficient attention until I started working in retail, where the Yuletide ditties are cranked up once Veteran’s Day is over. Arggggh.

Leave a Reply

