Mary’s Gift to Us

IMG_7812

Yup. That’s what my Nativity scene looks like… notice anything odd? Haha… possibly the salt shaker in the manager and some suspicious character peeking around the stable. That would be my lovely kids being funny. Later on I found the pepper shaker in the manager… changing it up haha. And that guy peeking around the corner? That’s St Francis of Assisi… he is always in our Nativity scene since he is the one who started that tradition.
Since today is the Solemnity of The Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary I thought I would blog about my reflections on Mary. Of course most people get the idea of the Immaculate Conception wrong…
immaculate conception
Just so you know… the Immaculate Conception is the conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary in her mother St Anne’s womb free from original sin. Okay now we can move on…
I normally pray Lectio Divina but recently I felt called to meditate on the Christmas gospels, placing myself there. The other day I placed myself in Bethlehem with Mary. I thought about the love Mary had for Jesus. As a mother I know how strong and powerful that motherly love is. I love my three boys so much I sometimes go all mother bear. Imagine though … being the mother of God. Holding God ~as a baby~ in your arms…. So that is what I did.
I imagined… Mary placing the baby Jesus I my arms, “Hold Him for me,” she says. I look down at the beautiful sleeping baby in my arms. He is perfect, smooth soft baby skin. His mouth moves, sucking in his sleep, as if he is nursing. He stirs, wiggles in my arms, and starts to fuss. A small sharp cry escapes his mouth. His dark brown eyes open. He blinks. He stops crying. He stops fussing. He looks up at me in awe, amazed by me. His eyes so bright. I feel like He can really see me, into me, the real me. He reaches up his soft chubby hand and grabs the glasses off my face. He smiles and giggles. He coos. I feel a warmth, a peace, as He continues to stare and smile into my face. I am in awe. He is speaking to me in the silence. I begin to sing to Him a lullaby I have never heard before. He looks up at me intently. His eyes grow heavy. I rock him. I hug Him to myself. So warm. His light penetrates into me. I close my eyes and doze with him. A while later, I feel a hand on my shoulder and look up to see beautiful Mary smiling down on me. I offer to give baby Jesus back to her but she shakes her head, “No, you hold him. He is my gift to you.”

Mary-and-Baby-Jesus
The greatest gift at Christmas is the gift of Jesus Christ. Accept Mary’s gift and spend some time with him in the quiet of your heart.

2 Comments

Filed under Catholic, Christian, Faith, Jesus Christ, Secular Franciscan

2 responses to “Mary’s Gift to Us

  1. Beautiful reflection. Thank you for sharing! God Bless!

Leave a Reply

