All The Year

honor Christmas

New Year’s eve is upon us. Most people at this point have either already taken down their Christmas tree or will tomorrow. It’s sad really; people are “done” with Christmas and happily pack it away until next year and are ready to move on to something else, something new. But Christmas is not over.
I understand the mentality… I understand why people pack Christmas away so quickly; either they don’t celebrate it as a religious holiday and don’t know any better, or they are just done with the holiday that has been shoved down their throats since Halloween. I get it, but at the same time I don’t understand why they want to pack away ‘joy’ so soon.
Today’s gospel reading is from the beginning of the holy gospel according to John (1-1-18) which includes, “And the Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us” John 1: 14. I find this very interesting since my recent Lectio Divina meditations are of this same theme. Jesus dwelling among us … and dwelling in us. Last week I read/prayed/meditated on John 14: 15-28 in which includes, “Whoever loves me will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our dwelling with him.” John 14:23. Today I started a new one: 1John 5:11-15 and when I got to, “Whoever possesses the Son has life.” There it was again; God dwelling in me. He is my possession, because he was given to me and He dwells in me. And then there were the Christmas gospel’s I meditated on this month … When Mary gave me baby Jesus to hold; when I imagined I was a shepherd and saw the choir of angels, the Star of Bethlehem and was there adoring at the manger. Being there and seeing Emmanuel~ God with us. That was incredible. I want that joy always … all year round.
Our Christmas gift every year is to be reminded that God sent his son down to be with us and to dwell in our hearts forever. This idea isn’t just for one day and then to be packed up and forgotten the rest of the year. We need to keep him and the gift of Christmas in our hearts and minds always. As Scrooge says in A Christmas Carol, “I will honor Christmas in my heart and try to keep it all the year.” We too need to step into this New Year with Christ in our hearts and minds.

Keep that Christmas spirit alive
let the Christ in you be seen
Carry Jesus in your hearts
Shine on in 2015

Leave a comment

Filed under Catholic, Christian, Faith, Jesus Christ, Secular Franciscan

Leave a Reply

