Facebook Fast … Lord help me….

givng up FB for lent

Yeah.
So on March 1st I decided to give up Facebook for the rest of Lent… too much drama on Facebook and I decided I needed a break… and what perfect time to do it… LENT! Give it up!!!

…well, it was then ~ hours into my Facebook fast~ that I realized I was addicted. Yes. Addicted. I realized that I think in Facebook. Yes I do. I constantly think, “I should post that on Facebook!”… when I see/do something funny, watch a movie, read a book, hear a song, watch a video, take a picture, think a funny thought… anything… even mundane stupid things… I immediately think, “I should post that on Facebook!” … now I didn’t realize I did this until I wasn’t posting on Facebook any longer … it was then that the idea, “I should post that on Facebook!” became, “I should post…. Oh, crap… wait…” and I did it a lot. A LOT. Like all the time. All day. Every waking moment. Everything I did or thought made me think, “I should post it on Facebook!” and it was then that I realized how pathetic I had become. This is what my life had become… I was LIVING my life vicariously through Facebook… I posted a lot. And I mean A LOT! Post post post! Facebook had become a huge part of my life… a huge part of who I had become… OMG… I am a sad and pathetic Facebooker. Lord…I needed this fast…

Hello my name is Kelly and I am addicted to Facebook. Hi Kelly.

But being a Facebooker isn’t all bad I must admit… It is a cool place to reconnect with old friends, classmates, and relatives. It’s fun to scroll and see what other people are up to and to read funny memes and watch hilarious videos … And I do (did!) post mostly Christian inspirational posts and cool Catholic memes on my FB wall … Hey I am evangelizing!

So now… how do I feel now that I have been Facebook free for …what … eleven days? (what? It has ONLY been eleven days?! It feels like an eternity!!!) … I really do not think in Facebook anymore… well, haha not as much… and I spend more time with my family.

And I read. A lot. I normally read a lot, but now I am just reading insane amounts … I am still reading Sophia House by Michael D. O’Brien. For book club I am reading Jesus and the Jewish Roots of the Eucharist by Brant Pitre. I also took on Scott Hahn’s Angels and Saints. Great Catholic books! And then I also decided to read the books my students are reading at school… so off we dive into the Dystopic worlds of 1984 by George Orwell, Brave New World by Aldous Huxley and Anthem by Ayn Rand. Yip, reading and loving all of them. Yeah, I know. I be crazy. Gimme some soma! (Just kidding… I gave that up for Lent 😉 haha)!

So yeah. I am surviving. 25 more days til Easter! Wait…. TWENTY FIVE??!!! O.o

lent over

What do I miss most about FB? The memes, the hijinks, the comradery… the funny posts by friends… but mostly the Catholic memes… really. I know I know!… my student today thought it was funny that I “meme”… I said, “Hey! I’m a cool old lady!” hahahaha… yeah… I will miss the St Patrick’s Day memes … sigh. Yeeeeaaah okay. I will survive.

Pathetic me. But I need this. FB free. FB fasting.

The funniest thing…. Once I post this blog on WordPress this will automatically be posted on Facebook…. Ahahahahahahahhahaha

Hi Facebook peeps… see you on Easter! Resurrected! WOOT!

2 Comments

Filed under Catholic, Christian, Facebook, Faith, Jesus Christ, Lent, Secular Franciscan

2 responses to “Facebook Fast … Lord help me….

  1. Cathy

    I’m proud of you Kelly!! But, I miss you, too. May God shower His blessings on you!!

  2. Thank you! I miss you too. I will see you at next weeks meeting and around STA 🙂

Leave a Reply

